Kirsty Snare, first time runner, on training for Cardiff

September 14, 2010 at 10:14 am 4 comments

This week’s guest blog is from Kirsty Snare. You might remember her from last blog for us. Here, she updates on her training efforts…

It’s just over 5 weeks until the Big Day and I’m both nervous and excited. 7 weeks ago I was very motivated and pleased to have reached the 9 mile point in my training runs. Then came August. School holidays combined with working from home gave me little chance for running and I’ve lost both form and confidence. My original aim of finishing in under 2h 30m seems quite a daunting challenge at the moment.

I’m halfway thorugh a self devised boot camp training week to get myself back on track. It involves long gentle runs, alternating with long cycles, and a mountain climb or 2. It’s incredibly hard. I stood at the 2 mile mark of an 8 mile run for 10 seconds this morning with my legs wanting me to go home, and my will power wresting me forwards. My will power won, but my legs and I are no longer on civil terms.

It just goes to show how effective having an actual goal can be. If I hadn’t committed to this race, and if people hadn’t shown their faith in my by sponsoring me, I would have turned back without a second thought. The half marathon is bigger than me, and the cause I’m running for, Camille’s Appeal, is much more important than my temporary physical discomfort. Camille is reaching a critical point in her treatment where her parents need all the support, good wishes, and luck they can get. If you get a chance, read Martin’s blog,  you’ll get a uniquely personal perspective.

Physical aches aside, it’s been a real joy to be out on the trails again. The season hasn’t quite turned, but there’s a tang of pine on the air, and the sun has a beautiful mellow quality. I’m kept company by squirrels heading up and down the oak trees, which themselves are slowly letting go of their summer finery in preparation for their winter rest. The ducklings and calves of early summer, who were never far from their mother’s shadow, have grown into gawky adolescents who stand independently. Even getting caught in the rain yesterday didn’t put me off – it made me feel hard core.

Good luck with your training. Every one of the 15,000 of us who will be starting should be incredibly proud of ourselves no matter what our result. Even for an experienced distance runner 13.1 miles is no walk in the park. If it wasn’t a challenge, it wouldn’t be worth doing. Enjoy your success.

Kirsty

What do you think of Kirsty’s incredible determination? Write your comments below. 🙂

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

My story Cardiff Half 2009

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Nicholas Llewellyn  |  October 11, 2010 at 2:10 pm

    I’m severely under prepared Kirsty.

    good lick, I’d like to hear how your last week running up to the race is panning out.

    I’m incredibly excited.

    Reply
  • 2. tom higgs  |  September 15, 2010 at 6:30 am

    great blog, good luck I’m sure you’ll do well.

    Reply
  • 3. keith  |  September 14, 2010 at 1:13 pm

    Hi Kirsty.
    When your running for charity you come second with the aches and pains. if it wasn’t a challenge then you wouldn’t get sponsored. I expect to walk half of it but i will cross the line no matter what. the 15,000 running have decided to have a go, thats what counts. good luck on the day. keith skeggs x

    Reply
  • 4. Nathan Harrington  |  September 14, 2010 at 11:03 am

    Well done Kirsty!

    Key to achieving any long run is determination. Those days when you really doubt whether you can continue, and when your legs are screeming at you that they don’t want to play anymore are the times when it matters most. Mixing things up is a good way to gain maximum results from your efforts – long runs are not the only box that should be ticked.

    Having a good cause makes the effort all the more worthwhile, and you’ll have an amazing sense of achievement before, during and after the day itself.

    Running a half marathon (or any distance) isn’t something that should be entered into without some serious consideration. It’s not easy but come the day you’ll be amazed at how the atmosphere, the adernalin, and the cause that you’re running for will push you the distance.

    Good luck!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers

Cardif Half Marathon Photos

Jubilant runners at start of Lloyds TSB Cardiff Half Marathon

Runners wave to camera at race start

Thousands of runners head down Lloyd George Avenue

More Photos

RSS Follow us on Twitter

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

