This Week’s Guest Blogger~36 year old Kirsty Snare~ First time runner

July 30, 2010 at 2:32 pm 5 comments

My journey started in May, when a friend of mine said “Wouldn’t it be a good idea to enter the Cardiff Half Marathon. I quite fancy it”. I agreed it sounded good, gave it some more thought, and signed up a week later. She, however, sheepishly admitted she’d decided not to, leaving me feeling virtuous and a little daunted to be undertaking it on my own.

Before I started training for the Cardiff Half, I thought I was of average fitness. 3 months later I realise that would have been a wildly optimistic assessment. On my first training run I barely managed 3km. Two months later I ran 12km, and today I managed over 15.5km.

I’m lucky to I have the beautiful Monmouthshire Brecon canal to run alongside 2-3 times a week. There’s plenty of sheep and cows to keep me company, rolling hills to lift my gaze from my shoes and distract me from my straining lungs, and a nice flat path free of traffic and kerbs for me to trip over.

There were 2 reasons I took on the challenge of the Cardiff Half Marathon:
1) I was a bit bored and looking to push myself in a new direction. 10km didn’t seem difficult enough; a marathon was too far. This distance is perfect because I know it’s within my capability, but I do have to consistently push myself to get there.
2) To raise money for Camille’s Appeal – a charity that helps young children with brain tumors.
http://www.justgiving.com/KirstySnare

I’ve not regretted my decision at all! A definite goal has been the motivation I needed to lever myself out of my rut and into something new. It’s also given me a way of increasing my self confidence.

Though my distance is increasing, I’m still woefully slow. I have a short attention span so the boredom can be off-putting. I combat this by varying what I listen to, and changing my normal route every now and then. It’s also hard to fit in longer runs around family and work commitments. I have to get my speed up, as I can’t find any more time to run in.

I love reading the comments from other runners on the Cardiff Half Facebook &Twitter page. Though I’m training on my own, I don’t feel isolated when I see so many others out there just like me.

Happy trails everyone. See you at the start!

 

Do you have any questions or comments for Kirsty? Feel free to leave them below.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Finding the MOTIVATION! This Week’s Guest Blogger – Ian Hoskins

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. emma  |  August 20, 2010 at 8:59 pm

    so nice to read about other people going through the same thing! thanks for sharing and good luck! it’s not easy but oh i can’t wait to cross that finish line and know all the work paid off…… 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Kirsty  |  August 17, 2010 at 3:54 pm

    Thanks for your comments. I appreciate that you not only took the time to read, but also reply. Nice to know I’m not alone in my endeavour.

    Rachel, have you got a running club near you, if you haven’t found a running partner yet? This site is has quite a few listed
    http://www.goodrunguide.co.uk

    Reply
  • 3. Rachel  |  August 7, 2010 at 10:29 pm

    Well done Kirsty you are doing great guns!! I signed up in March with the intention of being at 10miles by now….unfortunately Im only on 5mile with a 6.5 mile run last Sunday!!!!Ive bee finding it hard to find the time and motivation to run further but elaise that I eed to keep increasing my mileage week by week on my sunday long??? runs.

    Im hoping to sort out a running partner v soon to ensure that I increase my mileage although it was great last sunday when I bumped into a friend enroute and did the extra mile and a half taking me up to 6.5miles last sunday it made such a difference.

    This is my second attempt at the cardiff half after swearing I wouldnt do it again two weeks before the race..but that soon faded once I got over the finishing line in 1hr 51mins and was told that was a good attempt for a first one!Yeah!

    Good luck with your training and look forward to more of your blogs!

    Reply
  • 4. tannwen  |  July 30, 2010 at 3:56 pm

    As the friend who thought it was (then wasn’t) a good idea all I can say is I shall be cheering loudly and proudly! Well done kirsty x

    Reply
  • 5. Mary  |  July 30, 2010 at 3:50 pm

    You sound just like me!

    Running it for the second time this year. Eventually finished it in 2 1/2 hours. I too grossly overestimated my fitness to begin with, and also worry that I’m “woefully slow”. Managed to capitalise on my half marathon fitness though to complete the Edinburgh Marathon in May.

    I also run canal paths & try to do a different section for my long runs on the weekend. Training for the marathon I did the complete Neath Canal in both directions and significant sections of the Kennet and Avon canal and that, surprisingly, did a lot to allay my speed fears: I found that no matter how tired or how far into the run I was, I was always faster than the canal barges!

    Good luck for Ocotber!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers

Cardif Half Marathon Photos

RSS Follow us on Twitter

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

